Posted by: The Saffa Mom | April 2, 2012

Day 2 of the 30 Day Honesty Blogging Challenge (a guilty pleasure?)

  • Day 02 — Not including food, blogging or television, my most guilty pleasure (this includes chocolate)…

I don’t really need to think very hard about this one.

I don’t feel guilty about eating chocolate, Facebook, or reading. I may feel al little guilty about buying nice things when the money really could be used for something else, but only a little. I wouldn’t call that very pleasurable though- so not my guilty pleasure.

BUT when i think of this one particular thing, I even feel guilty thinking about wasting precious time on it.

My answer is PINTEREST!

It all started with the right intentions….I promise. Finding a virtual pinboard to place the things that I wanted to keep; go back to; or be inspired by.

PINTEREST makes it more enticing by not allowing you to become a member when YOU actually want to. Instead you have to actually wait until THEY want YOU to! Like the queue outside an awesome club in Camden Town. It is 12 o’clock at night- but that queue is still there. It is freezing, raining and snowing- but guess what? The queue is still there. Same as PINTEREST. You know it is not going to be good for you- but you still want a part of it! (I actually write a post on it not so long ago which you can read about here.)

When you FINALLY get in, which feels like forever- you are part of a really cool exclusive thing! (We know now that it is not so exclusive right?)

My problem was that instead of just worrying about the things I wanted to keep; go back to; or be inspired by, I got hooked at what everyone else wanted to keep; go back to or be inspired by and suddenly wanting to PIN all of that too.

My knight causally asks, often, what do I find so cool about THAT site? (Its probably a very girly thing to do though.)

“Well, it doesn’t take too much thought AND I can still be connected to you and whatever we are doing!”

Not impressed.

I wouldn’t be too.

It sounds dreadful hey?

My guilty pleasure. What’s yours?

Responses

  1. My guilty pleasure is reading1 I’m so busy with life and school, finding the time to read is def a guilty pleasure 🙂

    • Reading in itself is awesome- its all about how guilty you feel when doing it. I think you are quite lucky though Ed- your family are all great readers! So you can all feel guilty together. LOL. xx

  2. I was invited to join Pinterest but neglected to do so and now even though I still have the email, doubt that the link is still valid for joining. I am not sure if I want to join. Somethings that catch my interest might scare some people away. For instance, I love watching iCarly. Don’t tell anyone cause I just recently found myself watching Victorious too.

    Maybe the things that interest others were meant for you to find. I don’t believe in coincidences. Like if you told me in a few months that you were hooked on those two kid’s shows! (smile)

    • I have never watched them so can’t judge. Haha.
      I do agree with you there- Pinterest should have a couple of boards that allow you to have PRIVATE viewings and not be available for everyone to see. Think you should still check the link though. xx

  3. I think it’s awesome that you took up this challenge! I considered it, but just have too much going on right now. I think I’m gonna try to do the next one, but I really look forward to all your posts. I was glad this challenge at least held more interesting questions than many I have seen!

    • Cherlyn is awesome! She thought of most of them Tiffany. In July we have a meme and December another one. If you don’t want to wait until next year’s Honesty challenge, try the memes. We would love to have you.

      • Awesome! I would love to take part! (In the middle of adoption, and buried by paperwork, so I barely get to blog as much as I would like to, but SOON we will get that all finished up!)

        • Congratulations and I do hope to have you take part in something!

      • Tom- what is a meme? x

        • It’s hard to explain really but it is like something a bunch of people do at relatively the same time. On FB a couple of years ago women started posting colors on their status. Men had no idea what it was but someone had asked what color their bras were or both bra and panties. I don’t remember, maybe it was because of breast cancer? Well memes are done all the time but I wanted to take it and standardize it so a bunch of bloggers get together on the second Sunday in December and post their answers to a set of predetermined questions at 12:01 according to their timezones. Here is a link to the one we did in 2011 (http://morningerection.wordpress.com/2011/12/11/community-network-meme-2011/). I hope that explains it.

    • I am battling to keep up to the right day though Tiff, but I will just keep going as much as i can. Enjoying it though. About to post day 3. xx

  4. I still don’t understand what Pinterest is. It sounds like an old age home to me!!

    • Get on- you won’t be finding anything old about it! It is a vision board, one great big vision board. x

  5. Staying in bed! I know I should get up and just get on with the day but some times I just can’t. Other times I do get a start but end up lying back down and I just stay there.

    • Harold must be honest- i always thought that you were this big morning person. There is always so much to do in the mornings when you have a big family. When you have any family actually. When they all old enough to do their own thing- i suppose it is easier. I would definitely say that that was a guilty pleasure. You should join this challenge. Lol. x

  6. […] Day 2 of the 30 Day Honesty Blogging Challenge (mynakedbokkie.com) […]

  7. i am also hooked on a website right now, 9gag! i think i visit it everyday! i saw pinterest only once. but it looks really interesting.

    • I get scared even reading that name. Lol. Will have to take a look.
      If you visit interest just a few more times- you will be hooked promise. Say good bye to production time. x

  8. Besides blogging? Hmmm… right now it’s a toss up: Hunger Games books or Words With Friends on facebook! I finished the first book in less than 2 weeks (quite a feat for me). I have three simultaneous games with my aunt on WWF right now – it’s a battle of wits! Both will pass but they are my guilty escapes for now 😛
    xxx

    • Chef- i have been searching in iPhone applications for words with friends because everyone says it i so brilliant. I can’t find it.I am now presuming from your comment that it is a game through Facebook? Is that right? (As if i need something else to grab my attention (wink,wink))
      xx

      • it’s on Facebook yes 🙂

        • I can’t download it- my phone just keeps telling e sorry it could not fulfill me request. I have tried the same thing with draw something. Not sure if it is because we are in SA? Oh well. x

  9. I haven’t Pinterested yet, but I hear so much about it I really want to give it a try! Although, I spend far too much time on the internet already 😦

    • Then you will love Pinterest even more! Promise!
      xx

  10. Wow. that is something really nice. PInterest is really addictive and grows on you. So I can understand your feelings

  11. I am embarrassed to tell you that I have no idea what pinterest is. 😦
    Guess I have to check them out.

    • seriously go and spend a few minutes on the site. x

      • I will check it out after the Easter Holiday.

  12. never tried pinterest yet…might do after reading your blog 🙂

  13. […] are new to this please visit my introduction on the Blogging Honesty Challenge here, and see Day 1, Day 2 and Day 3. It has been good fun, so if you keen to join make your way over to Tom Baker’s […]

  14. […] this all started please do visit Tom Baker’s Blog,and my Introduction Post, as well as Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, and Day 4′s questions (which were much cleaner- lol). I am a little behind, but still […]

  15. […] Baker did with a friend of his. See my introduction- if you haven’t yet, and then see day 1, day 2, day 3, day 4, day 5 and day 6.  Who can we share this […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

