Posted by: The Saffa Mom | April 1, 2012

Day 1 of the 30 Day Challenge (everyone except me?)

A couple of days ago I told you about a challenge that had been set by one of our blogging friends- Tom Baker. (Don’t get scared when you see the name of his blog- give it a chance). Read about my post here.

Some quick background- 30 days worth of questions have been posted on his site. The challenge is to take it and make whatever you possibly can with it, but be honest! (There are a few rules, which you don’t need to worry your pretty little heads about.) Some of the questions may need serious serious thought for an answer, and some of the answers just seem to come naturally.

  • Day 01 — The one thing that it seems like everyone else on the planet is into but I just cannot stand is…

(This is one of those difficult questions.)

I am quite a nerd when it comes to keeping up with the times. I like new interesting, technically challenging things. I love all my gadgets, and I simply love keeping up to date with- whatever-I-can!

BUT if I could think off the top of my head- it would have to have been the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer. (To be honest, I don’t know if I can stand it or not?) I just can not see at this point how people have been so captivated by vampire love stories, with a couple of wolves thrown in? I don’t know the story line, and I haven’t watched the movies. (While the rest of the world most likely has.) But I watched every single girl around me crumble when anything that is remotely connected is mentioned.

Can the entire female circle around me be wrong?

I have not completely shut off though. Not yet.

I committed- just a little.

I downloaded the Samples onto my Kindle (a few months ago) so that one day they stare me in the face (boldly), with no other options in site and I just take that step. I decide to open page 1 and start. The sentences may just move into each other, and who knows- I may (or rather might) find myself buying the actual book and becoming hooked!

It hasn’t happened yet, and considering I have about 49 samples (which seems to grow every week) waiting to be read on my Kindle, it may not be until next year sometime.

How would you answer Day 1?

Responses

  1. Wow, if I had not thought of Twitter I might have picked Harry Potter or Twilight. I’m not mad at these people because I am a Trekkie who has even gone to a few conventions and met Nimoy, Shatner and a lot of other sci-fi stars but I personally cannot get into any of the recentl crazes. I will see Hunger games though. It’s because I love movies and did not know about the books prior to liking the trailer and even so, I will wait for the DVD.

    • Actually you right about Harry potter. Can’t understand that either. I did read hunger game though and enjoyed it. Looking forward to thy movie although I think I can also wait for DVD.

  2. I encourage you to give Twilight a try. I actually really enjoyed the books, and enjoyed the movies because I had already enjoyed the books.

    That said, I don’t understand the craze. And the same can be said of the latest crazes – Hunger Games, anyone? – can’t I just enjoy the book/movie and leave it there? Must I be lumped in with hordes of screaming tweens?

    • Haha. I promise one day to take the plunge. One say. Lol.

  3. Stephen King pretty much summed up twilight for me(at least I’ve seen it attributed to him):

    “Harry Potter is about confronting fears, finding inner strength and doing
    what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it
    is to have a boyfriend.”

    I get that bad writing can be eclipsed (hah!) by good storytelling but I really think she fails at both.

  4. i have a copy of twilight too but i can’t bring myself to read it. it was a crazy trend right? glad it’s over!

    • But it’s not over. Everyone keeps talking about waiting for the last movie. X

  5. Not having had TV for the past 12 years, I hear about these things but don’t know much about them. I read all the Harry Potter books, saw a couple movies. Don’t know much about Twilight or Hunger Games. I will look into the books and maybe see the movies, I hear they are good.
    Now I have read The Lord of the Rings quite a few times and watched the movies a couple of times.
    But I don’t “get into these things” like a lot of people do. I’m a nerd from the opposite side of Nerddom.

    • Harry Potter would have been on my list too- if i had thought about it earlier. Lol.
      Do think i should read Lord of the Rings though. Shockingly I never have.
      xx

  6. That is a tough one, eh?

    Reality TV (i.e. Jersey Shores, Big Brother, 19 and counting…) would be it for me. I don’t even like American Idol anymore, it all seems so fake or uninteresting. I’d rather watch cooking shows or NCIS or House. Not that I get to watch TV that much while working and raising 2 kids….

    • I know what you are saying. I record everything, and then watch it when i can. It saves some time too because i can fast forward through the adverts. Master Chef SA just started here, and my man dreads it…..only be one two weeks (every tuesday night). I want to be able to bond with the chefs and where they come from. The judges are a bit sucky though. xx

  7. Ah twilight I am not going to say anything except that I read the books because I HAD to read them to save my friendships. lol

    • Did your opinion change once you had read them Sophia? I am hoping that mine will. Lol.

      • Nope… I still dislike them. 🙂

  8. I fell for the Twilight series and thought it was great..but then I discovered other YA books and realized how mediocre and bland it was… I’ve sworn off Stephanie Meyer since then… it only got worse when the movie adaptation came LOL

    • You should put the other titles on your blog so everyone knows what is out there that may be better? x

  9. […] that are new to this please visit my introduction on the Blogging Honesty Challenge here, and see Day 1, Day 2 and Day 3. It has been good fun, so if you keen to join make your way over to Tom […]

  10. […] where this all started please do visit Tom Baker’s Blog,and my Introduction Post, as well as Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, and Day 4′s questions (which were much cleaner- lol). I am a little behind, […]

  11. […] where this all started please do visit Tom Baker’s Blog,and my Introduction Post, as well as Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, and Day 4′s questions (which were much cleaner- lol). I am a little behind, […]

  12. […] Tom Baker did with a friend of his. See my introduction- if you haven’t yet, and then see day 1, day 2, day 3, day 4, day 5 and day 6.  Who can we share this […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

