Posted by: The Saffa Mom | February 27, 2012

Being tagged was actually quite fun!

Tagged!

“Oh great- more work when I am scrambling for time. You see I am going away on Wednesday, a mini break. My knight is working for some of the time, but I don’t think it will interfere too much in my need to do “nothing”, “absolutely nothing”. So now while I am trying to get as much work done, I have an added obligation, which I really want to fulfill.”

 Who tagged me!

That blonde crazy neighborhood cat lady- Vickie. Her blog is called “Jumping in mud puddles” and to be honest I love it! I am still a little perplexed on how she actually remembers everything that she writes about, and then says that her brain cells are dying. Mine could possibly be dead! One day, I would like her mom to post something. Every time Vickie mentions her, I cringe. And then I giggle.”

 Today instead of reading all her awesome posts- she wants us to work towards them. She is a teacher you see- and that does sound quite teacher-ish. Right?

She makes a very good point though. Being tagged and tagging someone adds some creative fun to this whole blogging thing, especially when inspiration seems low. Most importantly, being exposed to others- it is quite an awesome feeling! (Thank you crazy cat lady!)

 In a world in which we are all so far away from each other, yet quite close……we don’t ever get to really know everything about each other. Some of these questions are easily answered, and some I had to put some thought into.

Of course, being tagged does not mean that you can go off on your merry way, and do whatever you want. Although I think we all would like to at most times.

 (Always rules! Rules, rules and more rules!!!)

*You must post the rules.

*Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post and then create eleven new questions to ask the people you tagged.

*Tag eleven people and link them to your post.

*Let them know you tagged them.

HERE GOES…..HOPE YOU LAUGH YOUR ASS OFF AND THEN THINK THAT I AM THE COOLEST LIVING BEING POSSIBLE. Or just get to the end!

1.  What movie could you watch everyday?

Winner by a long shot would be “The hangover”. Definitely. I think at one stage we did watch it everyday. Great motivation. Being able to laugh is so important in life. Even just thinking about certain scenes get me all into giggles.

Eventually I may stop laughing and be able to recite the words before they are even said, and then make the people around me laugh. That may then turn to irritation.

That will be when I approach Vickie and ask her if I can have another movie please. Something a little more serious and life changing (like me (wink wink))- that would be “The Constant Gardener” or “Blood Diamond”.  Those two movies stimulated my mind for days, even weeks afterwards. In fact, they still do. They take me right into the heart of Africa, and all the issues that my continent deals with. They point me in the right direction when I need to pray.

2. If you had to change your first name, what name would you fancy?

I would change my name to something not so “girly”. Kelly. I never liked it. I prefer Kal, but only the select few that have broken through my walls know that.

I would work on something that could be for a girl or boy so that an opinion would not be formed before I had introduced myself. (Especially to a chauvinist.) Something like Toni. I think that would suit me. Do you know any Toni’s?

3. You just got kicked out of your country. You aren’t allowed back. What country would you move to? Why?

Kicked out? Shoo wee- what could I have possibly done? That could be a question all on it’s own. (Maybe I will use that one.)

It would definitely need to be somewhere not to far from the equator, I think I would die in a place like Canada. (No exaggeration there.) It would probably be America. Florida. It has so many beautiful places that don’t seem too far, makes for easy travelling. My only request is that when I go home I am able to look around and just see paradise.

Honestly though- I don’t think I could move from Africa. My home has such magnificent gifts.

4. You are only allowed to eat one vegetable for the rest of your life. Discuss.

It would have to be butternut. I think I could do a lot with it. (You would want a very versatile product, something that tastes differently every time it is done. Cut out any potential boredom.) It is great in soups, it is great roasted, and it is great steamed. It is super awesome in baked products, and I have had it stuffed into pasta, you would think you were eating a meat product. It is much nicer than pumpkin, but the same consistency and much easier to work with. Yesterday I cut one in half and stuffed it with mushrooms, onions, baby marrows and tomatoes. Of course salt and pepper, and a little olive oil. It cooked in the braai for over an hour, wrapped in tin foil. It was so delicious that I even ate the skin.

5. You get to bring home a celebrity. Do with them what you want. Who would you bring home?

Brad Pitt. I don’t even need to think long and hard about that. He is possibly the hottest man ever! All round! I think I could write a book about all the things I would do to him. I could probably write a book about all the crevices I would like to move my tongue over. STOP!

If for some reason he was not available then I might extend the invite to Enrique or George. Shoo wee- I am getting all hot and bothered now.

6. Name three adjectives that describe you best.

Bossy. Pedantic. Super awesome.(Lol)

7. You have to pick one….. cat or dog? Why?

Dog. Never had a cat. Although I have seen some very loving playful cats, it is far too independent for me. I need things to rely on me. To believe that I am their EVERYTHING! My daughter will only be little for so long. Besides that- I have been told that I am allergic to cats and horses. Those horrible pin prick tests. Could never live with constant sinusitis.

8. You have been chosen to be in the Olympics. And you get to pick any sport that you want. What sporting event will you be participating in? For what country?

If I was chosen to take part in the Olympics it would be all a dream, and because it is a dream- I could choose a sport that I have never participated in.

I think it would be rowing. They just look so graceful, and focused. England would be the team. I can just imagine training on the Thames everyday. (In summer that is (lol)). Calling myself Royal would also be fun!

Gymnastics would also get my blood flowing, or figure skating! Graceful and focused. Everything I ever wanted to be!

9. Pick an idiom that you would like my fourth graders to draw this Friday for Idiom Friday?

I could come up with an entire list, but I think I will give you one that drives me absolutely dilly, so it is quite personal.

BACK SEAT DRIVER!

10. My favorite cartoon character was Foghorn Leghorn? And yours?

Who is Foghorn Leghorn?

I honestly can’t remember any one really standing out. Perhaps it was Wonder woman. There was a wonder woman right? Oh wait; I remember who stands out- Inspector Gadget! For those of you that know me, you know that I am a gadget fundi!

11. A two part question: What is your favorite smell? And your favorite sound?

Oh this is too easy, my baby girl’s hair after we have used Gliss shampoo. (The white and orange bottle.)

My favorite sound would be the words “love you mama” from her beautiful lips.

The next job would be to do some  serious DELEGATION!

(Get some people to throw some rocks my way, thank God I live in Africa!!) Obviously I would like you all to think that this is the most awesome idea ever! From the most awesome person ever! (Let’s just pretend!!!)

I am trying very hard to make this interesting…. And to be honest, I want to know your answers!

  1. What was your favorite holiday ever? Where did you? What did you do? (Can you perhaps add some serious details here, so that I can start planning my next trip. I think real feedback is a pre-requisite to any holiday destination. Would cut my work in half.)
  2.  Could you see yourself as a biker? (You see I could see myself as a biker, but it would seem that my entire social range thinks not. I want to know how many people I enjoy across the world share the same dream of one day being able to be a biker.)
  3. What is the worst lie that you have ever told? Did anyone ever find out? (I think this might need some serious thought because we probably all put it away deep into our minds, hoping it will never surface. Mine did.)
  4. Do you remember your first kiss? Tell us more? (Mine was disastrous. I am hoping that other people also had disastrous memories regarding that.)
  5. Do you still have a love that is no longer in your life, but that you often think about? That you perhaps wander what if…..?
  6. What is the one thing that you would change about your physical self? Something that you cant change through work and goals.
  7. Do you remember the first time you got absolutely trashed? Remember anything about it?
  8. When you were a child, what was the one thing that you always thought you could be or wanted to be? (Before life blind sided you?)
  9. What food would you not eat, because you are too busy thinking about what it used to be? (When it was alive.)
  10. If there is one person that you could ask God to bring back for a little while longer, who would it be? (I would battle between choosing my gran and choosing my brother. I would be grateful for either.)
  11. What is your favorite day of the week? Why?

Now, to choose those lucky 11. Let’s do some TAGGING!  

(Vickie and I follow some of the same awesome people, so I am going to try and skip them (Working Tech Mom would be one, the other would be Brown Road Chronicles.), so that they REALLY don’t want to throw rocks at me!!! Imagine being tagged twice.)

  1. The Edmonton Tourist
  2. The Big Sheep Blog
  3. Midnite Chef
  4. Harold’s Woodcrafting Blog
  5. The Only Cin
  6. Kloppenmum
  7. Creative Endeavors
  8. Sunshine in London
  9. The Hubby Diaries
  10. View from the Side’s Blog
  11. Recording Artist Ava Aston’s Blog

I hope you all have fun with it! If there is anybody else who found that they were giving their own answers while they were reading them, please jot them down and post a link in the comments. I know I did!!! We all do!

Remember to leave a link in the comments- it might take some time for your to work through, so it would be great if everyone knew that they could now visit your blog.

Lastly- there is not pressure!!!! Do it, don’t do it! But know that I really would like you too…. And ultimately I know that you don’t want to disappoint me. (wink, wink.)

Let me get moving to let you all know!!!! Last job on the list. Mmwaah.

Responses

  1. Phew that is a lot. Tonight!

    • Not so bad once you start. xx

      • i’ve started – will post tonight

  2. Wow. I don’t know whether to thank you or throw rocks at you – can I do both? This tagging business is serious work – I’m going to have to take a a 2 week vacation to give it the attention it deserves.

    • We all deserve a vacation- dont we?

  3. Thanks, I think. Some thought needed here, just on the questions a bit personal on a few of them! Then to come up with 11 more questions? I just checked…our rock garden on the north side of the house is NOT covered in snow anymore….

  4. This might get interesting… I’ll let you know when I’ve posted my tag 🙂 (And good answer with Brad Pitt!)

    • He is just so freaking hot. Did you see him last night with the Oscars….. we only see it on Monday night. I just watched bits….but managed to see that gorgeous man. x

  5. […]   from South Africa (she’s a little upside down, down there) that little tagger, Mynakedbokkie, but I decided to play along because for the most part she is harmless. Why end a blog friendship […]

  6. Good grief! I didn’t realise that I’d have to do something about being tagged! Have learned a lot about you though…:)

    • Hence rocks! Lucky you live on a different continent. xx

  7. Fun, wasn’t it? lol

    • It was actually. xx think i forgot to leave the link on your page- will get over there now. x

  8. Sorry I’m late, bokkie, will get going on it soon 🙂 xxx

    • Thank you Cindy! I am so sorry that you are dealing with so many issues at the moment. (Happy isn’t always a fairytale- right?) xxxxx

  9. […] few posts ago I was tagged by my blogging friend- Vickie, and given a list of 11 questions to answer. Part of the rues of being tagged were that you […]

  10. YIKES! I’ve been so busy these past couple of weeks I’m only having a moment now to even swing by and actually read thru your post.

    I’m not even sure I have the stamina to consider keeping up with something like this BUT…… I do appreciate being included!!

    Thanks!

    • Sure thing. You don’t need to, just thought it could be fun! x


Leave a Reply

Categories

