Posted by: The Saffa Mom | February 10, 2012

Happy Birthday Gran!

The 10th of February is my Grandmother’s birthday.

She never told me how old she was, still from the conservative side in which your age is to be a secret. She was a super cool gran. A happening one! I know that she was in her mid seventies, but by the time her body decided that she had had enough, she looked in her nineties. Cancer is such a horrible disease. She left us a few days just over a year before my brother- 31st August 2010. Maybe she left to make sure his space would be there. Maybe she had a hand in making sure that God realized what a horrible space he had been in, all on his own.

To my gran:

Happy Birthday Gran!

How I miss you. Not a week goes by that I do not. Not a moment goes by that I do not try to keep your memory very much alive in the heart of my dear princess. She often mentions you before I do. She misses her nana, and although I am unsure of how much she REALLY remembers, I know for sure she remembers the love you shared.

Hanging in your kitchen, you always had an Irish prayer. You were so very proud of the beautiful country that you had come from.  I can not wait to take Logan there one day.

May the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your fields. And until we meet again, May God hold you in the hollow of his hand.

Love you always gran. xx

She hated those scarves.

 

weeks before she left us.

Responses

  1. Beautiful tribute!

  2. Nice!

  3. I love that Irish prayer. What a wonderful tribute!

    • There are so many wonderful Irish prayers. x


Leave a Reply

Categories

