Posted by: The Saffa Mom | January 27, 2012

Ladybirds, Ladybugs, or Ladycocks?

“Ladybird, ladybird fly away home.

Your house is on fire and your children are gone.

All except one, and that’s little Anne,

For she has crept under the warming pan.”

 

Monday Evening when I arrived home, I wanted to take photos of how our new pond was moving along. (Big fan of before, during and after shots.) With those I started taking pictures of the some of the flowers that were growing in our garden. It is looking deliciously colourful, like a trifle of sorts!!!

I spotted a lady bird. (I really should have down loaded the photo onto my laptop now that I think about it, I promise to this weekend.)

It was the second for the day, as I have one on my wrist as a constant reminder that wishes do come true.

Clearly need more charms for my Nomination Bracelet.... you can post them to me. xx

I was brought up believing, amongst all the good luck charms that my mother hoarded but never seemed to work, that lady birds meant that a wish was about to come true. I would often find myself than making those wishes before telling my favourite bug to fly away home.

Climbing into bed that night, the third lady bird arrived and landed on the wall behind my bedside table.

I "instagrammed" it.

I thought with all of this luck I was having it would be an appropriate post after Ed’s post yesterday. (Perhaps Ed can pretend she was the one that had seen all of these Ed- for today’s lotto?)

Did you know that the scientific name of this family of beetles is Coccinellidae. To some they are Lady birds, to some they are Lady bugs, but there are a few names that have not made it to this side of the world.

  • God’s cow (Ummm???? All of them belong to God, so that is a little odd. What is even slightly similar between a lady bird and a cow?)
  • Ladycock (Lost me here too.)
  • Lady Cow (There is that cow thing again?)
  • Lady Fly (I like this one, although I detest flies and although I see a function for them in a Game reserve I do not see a function for them in and around our home.)

According to Wikipedia- the lady bird was introduced into North America from Asia in 1916 to control aphids. Yes that’s right- they have a serious function! They feed on all those little scale insects that serve as pests to farmers.

Wikipedia also states that they only reached the UK in 2004. (I would definitely question that? Perhaps it would sound more appropriate to state that the mosquito only reached the UK in 2004- if it even has, but the lady bird? Let’s be honest- it feels like a pretty ROYAL bug!)

 Anyway, let’s toast to wishes coming true. (More specifically my readers winning the lotto tonight!)  

Responses

  1. …What is a nomination bracelet? I’ve never heard of it before… Also love ‘before and after’ pics 🙂 That is actually quite a good pic of the lady bug on the wall; I like it.

  2. Oh, and yes! heaven knows where the cow bit fit in… 😀

    • Who knows. But at least we all learnt something today. x

  3. No wonder we survived so long here. Every fall and into the winter the Ladybugs would get into our house by the dozens. I’d catch them and put them back outside. This year hardly any Ladybugs…our luck is running out.

    • They got the hint when you chased them out every year Harold. Lol. X

  4. Alas…no ladybugs for me. They hibernate under the snow. I could go digging for them and look for little ladybug karcuses but digging them up, then having them die in the cold would be unlucky for them I think…and possibly me. Haha

    • I think I agree. It would probably be a bit of karma coming back from them if anything did go wrong. X

  5. We get them around us, literally by the thousands. They swarm our house certain times of the year, and even right now, in the dead of winter I could walk around my house and find a bunch of them. Needless to say it gets a little tiresome. Now if they really brought luck, man, I’d be the luckiest guy around!

    • Perhaps everything you have is luck? Lol. X

  6. I love Lady Bugs, as I call them. I also think they bring you luck if they land on you, I always set them free if they are trapped indoors 🙂
    Have a good weekend!

    • From everyone’s comments it would seem like the like indoors hey? Only problem is what are they feeding on then?
      You have a good weekend too chef.
      X

  7. Great bracelet, yes Ladybugs are good luck! Did you know how old the Ladybug species is? maybe 1000?, 10,000? wrong these species have been here since before the dinosours, to learn more visit a New blog called ” History of the Ladybug” http://historyoftheladybug.blogspot.com/

    • The fact that you have dedicated a whole site to the ladybug is a huge commitement. Well done. Good luck with your blog.
      xx

  8. […] Ladybirds, Ladybugs, or Ladycocks? (mynakedbokkie.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

