Posted by: The Saffa Mom | January 13, 2012

Jumping castles, topless waiters, and downhill patchy!

This morning I found myself paying R600 for a chemical peel in the hope of reducing blemishes and pigmentation.

Of course- then signing up for a whole treatment plan in the hope that I will look ten years younger in 6 months……or at least be blemish free. With the hormonal blemishes and pigmentation that have arrived in the last year are also the breakouts that are consistent on my face. Does my skin know how old it wants to be? Or maybe it is stressing over how old it actually is?

This is not a post about my skin.

It’s about my realisation that next week I am turning 31. (And going into panic mode!)

I do know that most of you are probably old enough to be my mothers!!! Most of you probably wish that you were turning 31 again. In fact, i can actually see half of you rolling your eyes as you read this.

However, if any of you remember- turning 30 was a HUGE thing in my life! Turning 31 feels as if 30 was the peak and it’s all downhill from here. Downhill with patchy skin!

Being the optimistic, bubbly, super happy self that I am, (although I have a feeling that my readers do not see this because they are always hearing about the disasters in my life), I am planning a little afternoon bash for 21st of January. The day before! Just in case I am stuck in a hole of self-pity and depression on the day.

To be honest, I wanted to spend the day with the two people I love more than anything in the world. My knight and my princess.

28 people are coming. (I thought that 28 sounded like a few too many to actually braai for.)

“For a change, let’s not run around! Rather let’s BE with the people that we are celebrating with.”

I called a couple of friends that do catering full time, told them I want a relaxed meal in which my guests need to get a little more involved.  At the moment we are playing with a DIY stir-fry idea, or a DIY pasta idea. (We also looked at a DIY burger option- but I recently did that with some of the friends that are coming; and a Schwama option- but that was what we did for Christmas). Waiting for some details, but both sound super awesome!

The dessert ideas are a DIY doughnut option or a DIY waffle option……leaning more towards the waffles.

While writing this, I have decided that it might be a good idea to have some cocktails going….. and perhaps some topless waiters. Lol.

My Knight requested a jumping castle! (Do you think he would say yes to the topless waiters?)

Now, do we think that I am dealing with aging issues or he is? Yes, yes for the few kids that will be there.

I said “no! Positively not!”

Imagine a jumping castle at MY birthday party!

He said: “it’s not about you, it’s about the people that are coming!”

“My love- it is about me. It is COMPLETELY about me! It is my birthday party!”  

xx

 PS: 

Please see my last post……………. I have a competition running, and a great potential prize!

Responses

  1. Not about you?!? That statement requires topless waiters to prove he is wrong. Haha happy birthday sweetness! xxxx

    • Could you just imagine! I can see his gran climbing under the couch. Haha. My princess would be running around making sure everyone realises that there are topless waiters there. It woudl be her story for weeks.
      Thanks for teh birthday message Ed. x

  2. Well whatever you think about aging and peaking…just do like I did and stay at the peak! Who says we have to go downhill? We climbed that mountain, now lets enjoy being there for a long time! 🙂

    • I think your kids (all 8 of them) kept you at that peak! xx

  3. 31 is no worse than 30. Yes, I did freak out like you did last year. Not to worry, I’ve been 31 for about 6 weeks now and it’s clear sailing! Happy Birthday my dear 🙂

    • Thank you Chef. The fact that you are counting the weeks shows that you may still be freaking out a little. (Wink, wink)
      xx

  4. 31 aint all that bad … I have done it twice now.

    DS

    • Haha. Did it feel better the second time? x


Leave a Reply

Categories

