Posted by: The Saffa Mom | May 30, 2011

This blog is not what I thought it would be.

Before I started blogging, I thought very differently about this world, and what becoming a blogger would actually entail. I longed to have a diary- on line. Something that I could log into, and just write. Stories about everything…. past, present and future. The lessons I had learned, and the dreams and visions I still had. I wanted a place to be able to tell my story, the way I wanted…. and if I wanted to be an absolute cow, it would be fine. It would be fine if my readers read about every terrible thing I had done. It would be fine if they realised that I was part of that human crowd, making mistakes effecting not only myself, every single day Anonymously.

The picture I had in my head, had nothing to do with relationships. It had nothing to do with comments or stats. It had nothing to do with people connecting. It had nothing to do with freidnships. I saw none of that. I was doing it anonymously. No one would know who I was. Would they even care? My picture was merely one in which I could write and whether people liked me or not, I would not be bothered. I had things to say. And I would say them. My real life thoughts- good and bad would find a place.

In reality “mynakedbokkie” has just become another name of mine. People have connected with me and I have made friends. These are real relationships. They have formed a picture of me, and guess what- I do actually care what they think. I care about stats, and comments and to be completely honest would probably hold back from documenting so much. Ithink before I comment and would probably become defensive if someone sent a bit of criticism my way….. Just like any normal relationship. There rreally is NO “anonymously”.

I don’t think this blog has become what I set out for it to originally be. And I am afraid that if it did, I may lose all of what I now have. Interesting how things change.

Is your blog what you thought it would be?

Responses

  1. Nope, I never dreamed it would be like this either, carry on 🙂

    • Perhaps I will just prepare you all if i do have a “i am a terrible” person story.
      xx

  2. Mine changed as I ran out of projects to talk about and used my thoughts on special days. Then started including what was actually happening in my life also.
    Just go with the flow and sometimes create it! Just be you! 🙂
    I am also amazed and thankful for the new friends made by blogging and finding blogs such as yours. We are truly a world wide community!
    In not actually “knowing” each other we can be more blunt, but yet at times still hold back as we get to care about the other. XX

  3. I had no idea what to expect, so I can’t say it is or is not what I expected. I just went exploring and found a whole load of fun

    • No expectations? That is a lesson in itself.
      xx

  4. I have stopped placing expectation on things for the most part. I am continually astounded at the way things turn out. Never in a million years would I have expected my blog to change my life in the way that it has. 🙂

    • I have seen huge change in you in the last 6 months, and I only know you through your blog!!!
      I agree with you- perhaps the hardest thing to do, but the most rewarding- loose all expectations!
      xx

  5. You know, when I look back I don’t really know why I started my blog. I had a few posts I had written that needed a place to live, that was part of it. But really I just did it on a whim. I thought Brown Road Chronicles would be a neat place to write about country stuff, but like you, I have veered from that path pretty frequently. I think when we start these things we feel we need to declare a “topic”. Kind of like choosing a major in college, even though you don’t know what the f__k you really want to do with your life when you’re 18. So we pick a blog topic, but then we just start writing, and unusual and interesting things appear on the screen, and suddenly there are subscribers and commenters and friends and the whole dynamic changes. I agree, these are real relationships and they are important to all of us regardless of what we are writing about.

  6. Blogs tend to take on a life of their own.

    • I wander how many people still have the exact blog that they set out for.
      xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

