Posted by: The Saffa Mom | May 26, 2011

My explorer.

I have a four and a half year old “Explorer” on my hands. Dora has nothing on her!

Imagine driving and looking through those at the same time...haha.

 My Princess (hope you noticed the tiarra that is placed on her head to resemble an alice band) found a pair of binoculars, and once they went around her neck, I battled to get them off.  In fact, she took them to bed. I had to show her how she potentially could strangle herself before she did put them next to her pillow.

What I am completely baffled by is what “She sees” when she looks through them. She swops them around from back to front constantly, and moves the focus in and out……but when she wants to show me how beautiful everything looks, and I take a turn- I see bugger all. I barely have 20 seconds to try and focus it properly for her, before they are back on her face.

Through experience I know what you should be seeing. However, right now I wander what she really thinks when she looks through them? Does she think that Dora has clearly lost the plot? Or does she really see something beautiful?

Responses

  1. As long as she enjoys herself 🙂
    What a smart little jacket!

    • It is stunning hey. She has a bright pink one with bigger polka dots too, from her nan. Still special that it fits…. She bought it months before she passed away.

      Xx

  2. All my kids played with them. Always talking about what they could see or how bad things looked when out of focus. That was always funny to them. Now you look this way, now you look that way, haha!

    • She doesnt realise it is out of focus. Haha.
      xx

  3. It’s not what you see… its what you imagine that you see that really matters!

  4. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, or at least they say it is. Every now and then I have to scrub the windows of my soul just to live with the world I see thru it. We seem to have lost the childlike wonder that all the world has to offer, we are jaded and used to it, and thus, the wonder of child prevails and awakens us to what it is that we used to see beauty in.

    DS

    • I hope everyone reads your comment.
      xx

  5. Our kid are fascinated by binoculars too, and compasses and walkie-talkies…dunno what it is. Love that jacket your Princess is wearing and the Alice-band tiara. Very cute.

    • All kids are the same. And men! Haha.
      xx

      • Now just a minute here! We men are different…sometimes…I think…. Its just that we are the same in…uhm…certain areas of thinking…maybe…too much?! But we are different when you get to the nitty gritty areas and away from where we are the same. We just don’t tell you. So you don’t know. I guess in that, we are the same too. Am I clear here!!? Just take my word for it. 🙂 Okay? Good we got that settled. NEXT


Leave a Reply

Categories

