Posted by: The Saffa Mom | April 15, 2011

This post is really about distraction…

There have been so many occasions in the past few years in which I have considered studying part time. What? Law. Why? Well, because it would be highly beneficial to my business; I seem to have a knack of what to look out for- the little loops that perhaps no one else has picked up, and because I love the debate of it all. (Besides I should receive a few credits for the BComm Marketing degree I did.)

AND THEN I get my head stuck into 186 pages of a Government Gazette- the Consumer Protection Act that has just come into play….. and think I would be crazy! I am so very bored, and I have found myself reading the same sentence three, four, five times, and not having a cooking clue as to what I have just read!

Feel like I am back in Varsity anyway....

Hence the post today……… avoidance!  

Did you come for a story?

Okay, let me think about something that happened this week……

Monday evening I left Woolworths, pushing the trolley, without realising that My Princess was sitting on a toothbrush, that I therefore had not paid for. When I realised, and had unpacked the 6 bags of groceries from the trolley as well as her into my little car…. I did “umm and ahhh.” (Can you actually believe that I ummmmedd and ahhhhhheeedd?) Not for long however. Off we went back into Woolworths- peak hour shopping for convenience food (all those working moms), went to the manager and exposed my potential theft of an R18.00 toothbrush.

It was important to me, not only for my conscience, but for My Princess to realise that there is right and wrong…. no grey area. The management was genuinely shocked. In fact, one of the ladies went running off- I did not realise why at the time, and once I had completed the payment, she brought us a gift. A gift for honesty? My Princess was over the moon. Obviously in a bigger rush to get home and sorted, I didn’t think too much of it until we reached the car.

The fact is that we are establishing a foundation in which honesty should be rewarded? Huh????? Please tell me that I am not the only one who sees this as the wrong picture!

Responses

  1. Yes, that is quite something to ponder.

    • It is worrying actually. Imagine our kids growing up believing that “being good, honest people” brings material rewards.
      Xx

  2. Honesty is the best policy, you did the right thing.

    DS

  3. I don’t think it would be something to worry about. If you are honest and are being honest for the right reason (you were) not expecting anything, then a reward is the blessing for being honest. Yet there will be times (just happened to me) where being honest and up front bites you in the posterior, undeservedly. Could you imagine instead being berated for not realizing what your daughter was inadvertently sitting on? I bet that would have boiled your bagels so to speak! 🙂 So we take the good (rewards) and do our best to brush away the bad. (I so want to yell and scream about it) Hopefully it all evens out or even the good side is weightier.

    DS is right Honesty is best. We can be rewarded for it or wronged for it. When all we really want is a thank you and it being appreciated, the middle ground.

    • You so right.
      I read something this morning on someone’s facebook status which i thought was awesome:
      “One evening an Old Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people. He said, “My son, teh battle is between two wolves inside us all. One is Evil. It is anger, jealousy, ego and lies. The other is Good, It is joy, truth, compassion and faith. The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather” “Which wolf wins?” The old Cherokee simply replied: “The one you feed.”
      xx

  4. Woolworth’s..wow, I haven’t heard that name in a long time…we had those here when I was growing up but they have been gone a very long time!

    • Haha- that made me giggle.
      Woolworths is the grocery store that has all the awesome luxuries, and most necessities. It is filled with delicious-ness! And healthy stuff. They tend to be an awesome place to get conveniance-made-deliciously. They not only food now…. they have become a whole department store… food, clothes, home stuff. And all great great quality. However, no one woudl ever think they were cheap. In fact i think some people are surprised that they beat alot of places prices.
      Not sure what i coudl compare them too….. but if you were here, you would br grateful if they were close.
      xx

  5. That is very cool that you were honest and very troubling that you should be rewarded for it. At least you weren’t scolded for it. . . 🙂

  6. Princess will grow up to someday be a great Mommy because of you and the great values you are instilling in her. What a great story…now that needs to be Freshly Pressed.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    • I am not worrying about her being a mommy yet… i am just worrying about her getting to 5 and then 6, haha. Thanks though- that is super motivating!!! You almost make me want to go out and have more babies! (Or not.)
      xx

  7. I bet she will remember this day more for the lesson in honesty than the reward. So many times people see parents doing wrong that perhaps they feel the need to reward those who are doing right.

    • I hope so…. Just so sad that there are so many people out there- that think it is okay.
      We will know things are seriously wrong when our news (in the news) ends up being good news though.
      xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

