Posted by: The Saffa Mom | April 11, 2011

Can you please explain the pest, Mr Robertsons?

I don’t think I would be a great Recipe girl. You know the type that is able to tell you exactly what she put into a meal, in exactly what amounts. How long she cooked it for? And what is actually causing the gorgeous tastes to infuse together and create heaven on a plate.

I am one of these girls that adds a bit here and  a bit there, a bit of this and a bit of that. Yes, one of those that tastes (with a clean spoon @theonlycin) throughout the cooking process. How else do you know whether you are on the path to Master Chef?

This would possibly mean that I would not be able to actually come up with a recipe… and therefore never a recipe book! Ever.

Could you imagine the “hate speech” I might get for a pinch of this (How much is a pinch? Does this differ from one person’s fingers to the next?); a spoon of that (what spoon? A 5 ml spoon? Or a normal teaspoon that I am never quite convinced could actually carry 5 mls?); and then there is the: cup of something (heard very recently that cups actually differ from country to country? My standard cup would be 250 ml…… this may help when it comes to the wine bit….but maybe not the baking bit.)

On Saturday I made Beef Curry. It was simply delicious.

(I forgot to take pictures of the end result….. and I really did believe throughout the cooking that it would be pointless trying to put what I was doing into words for you all to go and recreate.)

So today, it isn’t about helping you create a curry to die for….. and to be honest- you all offended me by not actually taking up my dare to make the Chocolate Guiness Cake (except @theonlycin)…..today is about how I found Weevils in my ginger spice? (Luckily, I had some ginger paste in my fridge which I really should have used from the start!)

Weevils? What is a weevil? An insect, beetle like irritating pest that caused me to have to throw out my entire shelf of cereals this weekend. Complete waste. A real definition would be:

 weevil is any beetle from the Curculionoidea superfamily. They are usually small, less than 6 millimetres (0.24 in), and herbivorous. There are over 60,000 species in several families, mostly in the family Curculionidae (the true weevils). Some other beetles, although not closely related, bear the name “weevil”, such as the biscuit weevil (Stegobium paniceum), which belongs to the family Anobiidae.

Many weevils are damaging to crops. The grain or wheat weevil (Sitophilus granarius) damages stored grain. The boll weevil (Anthonomus grandis) attacks cotton crops. It lays its eggs inside cotton bolls, and the young weevils eat their way out.

Weevils are often found in dry foods including nuts and seeds, cereal and grain products, such as pancake mix. In the domestic setting, they are most likely to be observed when a bag of flour is opened. Their presence is often indicated by the granules of the infested item sticking together in strings, as if caught in a cobweb.

(Taken from the Wikipedia website)

You would then agree that it may be very strange to find a weevil in my ginger spice?

  1. Take into consideration…. that the flour cupboard; the spice cupboard and the cereal cupboard are all completely separate. In fact, we are talking meters apart.
  2. Ginger spice would not appear to be a nut; seed; cereal or grain product? Robertsons? What do you say? Any explanation?      

Those black little things on top of the spice..... i shook the bottle a few times, and they constantly managed to burrow their way up to the top again.

Shoo wee- my blackberry actually did these pests some justice?

Responses

  1. That is very, very strange!

    • Quite. Now that i think about it- I really should have kept it to send through to the Spice People…..
      xx

  2. I had something turn up in a closed box of cornmeal muffin mix. Yeck!

    • Most times you will find weevils in grain products, as their eggs are laid during harvesting. So even though everything is sealed, the eggs do hatch and live. Problem is that if they happen to get out, like from flour packaging (shoudl be easy for them), they often infect the entire lot of stocked flour.
      I suppose a bit of protein never harmed anyone?
      xx

  3. Sounds yummo. What time should I be over there?

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    • The curry was! Completely.
      I will arrange the meal, if you arrange the trip.
      xx

  4. LOL
    I cook the same way! It makes life much more interesting but frustrating when trying to repeat the process.
    I keep bayleaves taped to shelves in the pantry which are meant to (and seem to) keep the moth-things away that infest everything. Maybe that would work for the weevils?

    • Maybe i will do that for the moth-things.
      The thing about weevils is their eggs are laid in the grain products before you geenrally even get them to your home. Depending on how quickly you eat the products- you could be eating the eggs. haha. Of my. I am now adding way too much information, then i think we are prepared to really think about.
      xx

  5. Weevils! I had forgotten about that name. We seemed to get something like you described, but they were not like the picture. Had the stringy cob-webby stuff and when they got out into the cabinets they were moths. They would fly around the kitchen!
    Took us a long time to get rid of them. Put everything in ziplock bags, kept old and new separate, threw out what ever they showed up in, cleaned the cabinets completely and finally they were gone.
    Still have some items in ziplock bags that we haven’t used up yet.
    We think they came in boxes of long grain wild rice.

    • Possibly in the goods before they were even sealed. Pests.
      Xx

  6. Hey now, I haven’t tried the Guiness cake YET. Doesn’t mean it’s never going to happen. We just don’t have Guiness very often. I would toss anything with bugs, eww. I hope you didn’t have to buy everything in your house as replacements! xxx

  7. Weevils larvae may have gotten into those spices during the processing. Under right temperature they will hatch. When I returned to my fajita seasoning after being left unused for some times, there were weevils crawling around.


Leave a Reply

Categories

