Posted by: The Saffa Mom | February 10, 2011

Stylish blogger award? Someone has lost their marbles!

A stylish blogger award? Huh!!!! I don’t deserve that? Do I? Nah!!! (My first thought when reading my emails at 2:35 am, while taking Jess for a piddle.)

But, little miss WORKINGTECHMOM thinks I do!

Yes, she officially got fired from her awesome job, and with that lost all the marbles in her little noggin! Think she may have too much time on her hands right now?

(To be totally honest- she is very freaking super cool, and that is why she has been on my blog roll for forever*! In fact, I would fly her over here and place her at my desk if I could.)  

*Forever- my little blog’s life time, which is really only a few months.

So…. now what? Well, with the award comes s-o-m-e WORK! Hence today’s post.

To be honest, I think it is a silly-chain-blogging attempt that is spreading like wildfire. However, it is awfully ego-maximizing to actually receive on! It’s a YAH moment!!!! If I seem to be walking around with a carrot stuck up my butt, you know that (officially) you can thank WORKINGTECHMOM. (I suggest you thank her personally, she may be able to give you a bit of “ego-maximizer” too.)

There are four steps to accepting this award. (I hope at least one of them is followed by Chocolate?) 

  1. Present seven things about yourself (…. besides your love of chocolate.)
  2. Name about a half-dozen bloggers you think deserve the award
  3. Contact those people
  4. Create a link back to the person who gave you the honor

Eventually it means that everyone should be reached! The WordPress community is going to be a bunch of seriously egotistical bloggers, which should leave for some interesting reading!

Task 4.

Done.

Task 3.

About to do…… and by the time you see this, should be DONE.

Task 2.

I could name a few very special blogging friends on my list of subscriptions. People I have fallen in love with, and seem to brighten my day, everyday. They know who they are!!!

In fact, I imagine having get togethers with all of them… could you imagine? Can someone @ WordPress get cracking and choose a country to have an event in! You must have an event manager? There is potentially a new job for me!!! (Just while I wait for our legal systems to get their ass into some type of working gear!) Actually- WORKINGTECHMOM– there is potentially a new job for you??? What do you think? 

BUT, BUT, BUT……  I really am just going to hand this award to ONE person.

I found her on Freshly Pressed, back in the days when I started this trip, and still had time to read those posts. (I imagine you all have the same problem?)

She was the first person/blogger that I thought “I like you. I really-really like you.” Dammit Janet- Ed, I love you!

Besides the fact that she is an absolutely awesome writer, she helped me figure this whole WordPress-thingie out. I took a chance, and she only pleased. (I treasure this cyberspace friendship that has been created.)  

My Silly-Chain-Blogging-thingie My award goes to “The Edmonton Tourist.”

(She is far more humble than I am. Don’t expect too much obnoxious-arrogance like you may have picked up from me. Remember whose fault it is hey- yes, WORKINGTECHMOM!!)  

Last step, Task 1.

1. When I was 5 years old, a teacher told my parents that I would need to go to a “special” school as they felt that I may have been a retard. (In those words.)

This isn’t said to reflect on how I proved her wrong, in fact I only found out about this before I started varsity. It is more to show just how wrong people who are not officially trained, can really be. I wonder how many other parents had their hearts broken the same way?

Mind you- sometimes I do-do stupid things! And who doesn’t want to be treated as special? 

2. Every boy I liked, I seemed to fall in love with…. otherwise I never really liked them. (I have realised this looking back.) I fell for so many boys!

Now, I am as hard as nails.

3. I waitressed in my last year of school, and saved every cent to buy a plane ticket to London and live for a month. (My dad was beside himself- and rightfully so.) I managed to find a job…..and subsequently lost any plot I may have been on while there, as well as my marbles. I did way too many things that I perhaps should NEVER tell anybody, except the people I did them with. (RETARD MOMENTS.) (Note: That was the old me!) This makes me question whether I will ever let My Princess be more than driving distance away from me. 

4. I got married because it was the “next” thing to do. My evil gran stood in the church ceremony and told my angel gran that “I could always get divorced if it didn’t work out.” How ironic?  

5. When I found out I was pregnant, I cried. For weeks. I was the only one who was really not happy. I was enjoying my time, my money and our life too much to have to worry about a new little being. (Or the freaking constant morning sickness that NOTHING-NOTHING-NOTHING took away!)I had just bought a two-seater cabriolet dammit!!! No car for a car seat!

Once I had dealt with the thought of being a mom- I found out that baba was a girl. That brought on more depression and more tears for weeks. If I was going to have a baby, it needed to be a boy!

Now, I love nothing more than My Princess, but I do believe that falling pregnant may have been an initial wedge in my “once-upon-a-time” marriage.

6.  I have been a  Born again Christian for 2 and a half years, and am still in desperate need of Jesus. I mess up all the time! I do wrong things constantly and I find myself praying to God for forgiveness often all the time. I seek God in everything I do, but still battle to hand everything over. 

7. One of the saddest things I have ever had to do was my Grandfather’s obituary. It was a month before my 21st birthday. He had suffered for over a year with cancer, and I had found myself constantly at his bedside throughout that period.

Almost 9 years later (September 2010), my gran suffered the same terrible fate. Our Matriarch was gone. Standing at the altar at her  funeral, I had been given the same task by her just days before. It was different this time. She told me where to find something very specific- exactly what she wanted me to say. That same day she told me that she didn’t think many people would come to her funeral, the church was packed! I do miss her.  

You may appreciate this….. no one ever found out where it came from originally. My gran just had a note that it was “anonymous”.  

“When I come to the end of the road,

And the sun has set for me,

I want no nights in a gloom filled room,

Why cry for a soul set free.”

“Miss me a little but not too long,

And not with your head bowed low,

Remember the love that we once shared,

Miss me, but let me go.”

“For this is a journey we all must take,

And each must go alone,

For it is all part of the Master’s plan,

A step on the way to home.”

“When you are lonely and sick of heart,

Go to friends we know,

And bury your sorrows in doing good deeds,

Miss me, but let me go. “  

 

Your naked bokkie.

Xx

Ps.. sorry to end on a sad note, but know that I find it comforting…. someone else might too.

xx

Responses

  1. Lovely, bokkie. Bless your precious heart.
    Thanks for sharing all these little-known facts and honest feelings with us, and congratulations on the award!
    Sunshine xx

    • Thanks Sunshine! Need lots of blessings!
      It was a pleasure… Felt like I could have carried on, had to stop myself. When I read through it again, it sounded a little pessimestic. But that was not the intention…. Just to share.
      Xx

  2. Retard? I’ve never known any teacher to be so way off bat!
    We love you, bokkie!

    • Must admit…. that is what my mother says. You know mom’s.
      LOve you all too….
      xx

  3. Gorgeous poem bokkie, and isn’t it cool – how when we look back we can see how far we’ve come? I guess it’s a bit like the kids growing, you don’t notice the day to day changes, but all of a sudden you have a son with feet as big as yours (well mine, obviously since you have a daughter). 😉

    • We have all come far…. and sometimes i do wonder what if thinsg had been slightly different?
      How DIFFERENT would things be now?
      xx

  4. A very nice poem with a meaning!
    You, I, we, all grow into ourselves each day. Some grow slower, some faster but we all grow.

    • And sometimes we just keep on growing in the wrong places!!!
      xx

      • Did you have to go there?! 🙂

  5. I lost all three (remaining) grandparents within a 2 year period, just after Big Brother was born. It was devastating that my link to the past was wiped out so quickly, I didn’t get to spend time just being with them since I had moved away. That was my greatest fear when I decided to move for a job – I would never see my grans again. I know deep in my heart, they are free and in Heaven, in good company.

    • Let’s imagine that they are all having tea together, and talking about their grandchildren and great grandchildren!!!
      It wont be forever- soon we will all be together. I look forward to that.
      xx

  6. What a lovely poem Bokkie! Thanks for the honour 🙂
    xxx

    • Honour!!! It was an absolute pleasure my friend.
      xx

  7. i love it


Leave a Reply

Categories

