Posted by: The Saffa Mom | November 25, 2010

Thanksgiving…..in sunny SA!!

Courtesy of studenthacks.org

We are not a society that celebrates thanksgiving. Perhaps because South Africa has too many public holidays already (and always looking for excuses we may end up with more), or perhaps in the past we were too busy fighting with each other to find a reason to give thanks. Growing up, the only time we ever really came across the term was through TV.

(TV is not all bad- in fact, I think most of our worldly knowledge comes through this handy little box. The sad thing is that our children and grandchildren one day may rely on a flat screen to have any idea of the things we have experienced in our lives…..due to the way in which we live our lives.  Great business to be in.)

Another example is Halloween- an American holiday clearly. South Africa has NEVER celebrated it!!! Paint this picture…… It is perhaps one of the major reasons why we never have. We live in a society that WE WOULD NEVER (saying that word now too many times) send our children out onto this streets….to approach strangers. Either they will get stolen, or the sweets will get stolen, or something WILL go horribly wrong.  PARANOID…..but for a reason. We have gates, and walls and scary dogs. Long drive ways. Many homes don’t have bells……….people don’t want the irritation of someone ringing it. They know who is coming to visit them. And if they don’t, then perhaps they don’t want them visiting.

This year however, neighbours were all trying to arrange little gatherings. (How sweet). Kids were getting dressed up, and shops were covered in Halloween decorations. My hair lady (who I love dearly and is more than my hair lady) said that one of her clients runs a party shop, and this year Halloween was the busiest celebration. WTF?

To be quite honest, I don’t even know why parents would promote that with children. How can you create scary moments, teach your kids about blood, guts and ghosts………….. and then a few days later try and laugh off their nightmares as nothing serious. YOU CREATED THAT!    

So here we are, and TODAY is thanksgiving. (Thanks to my facebook friends who live in America).  Am I wrong is presuming that the day ‘s purpose is to find the things we are most grateful for- and give thanks. Shouldn’t we be doing this every day? We should, but we don’t. Like Valentine’s day……. how many “sleaze balls” argue that they think that Valentine’s day is ALL  TOO commercial. “We should celebrate our love everyday”. Blah, blah, blah. (I am rolling my eyes, and shaking my head…… why? Because how many of them take the effort to do show this love every day?)

Do we sense some irritation in relationships at this point? Haha.

The purpose of this blog today….. to give my thanks……

To God.  I am here for a reason, and you know what that is. I have a purpose, and through you- I will get it done!!!   

To my beautiful princess. You are the light of my life. You turn my frown upside down. Our secret……but I love you more than anything in this world.

My knight. You are my rock. You have taught me “patience” (haha), and how to see the world from a different perspective. I love you, and I look forward to sharing our lives together.

My mom. Getting through this tough year stronger, and more independently, as shown me that we really can do anything.

My dad. You messed up big time. I battle to be thankful to you, however I have a dad, and he is here. And I still love him.

My gran. For watching over us since you have gone. We miss you.

My business partner. For having all the faith in the world that we will get it done.

My closest friends. (You know who you are) For allowing me to be me.  

My Hair Lady, and My Hair Colleague. The Fridays that we share together, keep me sane for the month.  

OKAY- this is really starting to sound sad!!!

Is this the way it is supposed to be? Need some input here- so I can get it down for next year. I really cant imagine a family sitting around a table crying through out Thanksgiving dinner.

Responses

  1. This didn’t sound sad! It was very intimate. We celebrate Thanksgiving in October. We don’t sit around crying because we a are thankful, although it wouldn’t hurt my brother any 😉 You created a lovely list. It’s very true, when we get right down to it, it is the people in our lives we are thankful for…and coffee 😀

    • Oh, completely forgot about the coffee. Need to add that one!! I took for granted that everyone who celebrated “thanksgiving”, celebrated at the same time. I am a doffy.
      Before I forget- another super nb one- chocolate!!! Xx

  2. hey girl that was AWESOME. it is nice to have a second in our busy lives that is filled with frustration and anger and all those bad emotions to just be so thankful for what it is that we have, however small it is. You rock and thanks for reminding us of the things we need to be grateful for 🙂

    • Think it was more about reminding myself my friend. Glad it worked for you!!!! Xx enjoying this blog, so it may join list next year. Haha.


Leave a Reply

Categories

